Slowly does it every time

The Tortoise and the Hare - Project Gutenberg ...

The Tortoise and the Hare – Project Gutenberg etext 19994 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Over the past two weeks I have gotten a little discouraged about the progress we are making financially. It just seems like this financial freedom is going to take a long time. I think we have been doing a budget for 8 weeks now. Yes, I do feel better, but when I look ahead getting out of debt seems a long way off. In one of our most recent lessons in Financial Peace University, Dave Ramsey mentioned Aesop’s Fable about the tortoise and the hare and reminded us that “slow and steady wins the race.” I really needed to be reminded that this is going to take patience. 

Unfortunately, I am not the most patient person. I don’t think I am the only person that lacks patience, because our society is totally about immediate gratification. I need to keep in mind that I need to “live like no one else now, so that later I can live like no one else.” It takes patience. 

In Luke 8, Jesus tells a parable where the sower scattered seeds which fell on many different types of ground. Some of the seeds fell on the path, others on rocky ground, others among thorns, and some on good soil.  The type of ground they landed on influenced their growth. When I apply that parable to my own life I can see how the different areas of my life have produced growth, change quickly, or don’t even grow. But sometimes the changes wither and die because they weren’t planted in the right soil. I can really see this principle in my financial life. I have thrown my money on things that won’t produce anything, but will be destroyed by moth and rust. I know my husband is worried about this financial change withering and dying….but I assure him that the freedom I feel now is my motivator to slowly plod forward.

Luke 8:15 “But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.” What kind of crop will I produce?

I can even apply patience and perseverance to my overall health, which maybe I will be brave enough to post about my weight loss journey one day…

What are areas in your life where you need to develop more patience and perseverance?

2 thoughts on “Slowly does it every time

  1. Hang in there! I know exactly how you are feeling. Sometimes when you look at how far you have to go it can be depressing. But it will be so worth it in the end. Treat yourself when you’ve accomplished small goals. Go to Rita’s or something small like that. Just to reward your hard efforts. But don’t go on a shopping spree! lol!! We’ve been working on debt ourselves (while paying for out of state college now) and just when I started to see some light – BAMM! I have a surgery scheduled and need 2 crowns on my teeth! Those are not fun expenses. Last year we got hit hard with 2 big vet bills and a new water heater among other things. It’s always something. But know that others do know what you’re going through and while it’s tough, hang in there! You will see little bits of light soon and it will be so worth it!
    I appreciate your blog. Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks Dawn! I need the encouragement 🙂 I agree having a reward for goals might be good. Going out to eat on a date with Wes sounds like a reward at this point. I did go on an online shopping spree yesterday but I emptied the cart before I bought anything! I am a little worried about having one of those emergencies….we haven’t had one yet but I am sure it is to come. Thanks again for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

